top of page

About The Bujinkan


The martial art is made up of 9 schools of Japanese budo (ie skills / philosophy of warfare). Some of these schools were developed by ninja and some are associated with the samurai. Collectively they are known as Bujinkan Budo Taijutsu.

The core principle of our schools is that it is possible to survive attacks from larger, stronger, more aggressive and potentially armed attacker(s) without the use of physicial strength or speed. 

The schools are: 


  • Togakure-ryu Ninpo Taijutsu 

(Ninjutsu - 34th Generation) 

  • Gyokko-ryu Kosshijutsu 

(Specialising in the muscular system - 28th Generation)

  • Koto-ryu Koppojutsu

(Specialising in the skeletal structure - 19th Generation)

  • Shindenfudo-ryu Dakentaijutsu

(Specialising in natural movements - 26th Generation) 

  • Kukishinden Dakentaijutsu Happo Biken 

(Samurai school - 28th Generation) 

  • Takagiyoshin-ryu Jutaijutsu

(Samurai style jujutsu - 17th Generation) 

  • Gikan-ryu Koppo Taijutsu 

(Specialising in the skeletal structure - 18th Generation) 

  • Kumogakure-ryu Ninpo Happo Biken 

(Ninjutsu - 14th Generation) 

  • Gyokushin-ryu Ninpo Happo Biken

(Ninjutsu - 24th Generation) 


Any one of these schools is a martial art in its own right and would be sufficient. However studying many related styles gives us a very wide base of understanding to work from. Several of these arts have long, illustrious histories in Japan that can be traced back over hundreds of years. They were inherited by Masaaki Hatsumi from his teacher Takamatsu in 1972. 

bottom of page